Selection | Studies | NWU | North-West University

Types of Selection:

  • Paper / Academic selection: Selection is done on the academic achievement of Gr 11 or Gr 12 marks and the best candidates are selected. Average performance is also taken into account.
  • Faculty selection
  • Selection tests
  • Closing date: 30 June 2018

Please note that the closing date for the following selection programmes has been postponed to 30 September 2018:

Mafikeng Campus

  • Faculty of Health Science
    • BHSc with Sport Coaching and Human Movement Science (8DJ H03)
  • Faculty of Law
    • BCom Law (6DD H01)
    • LLB (6DE H01)

Potchefstroom Campus

  • Faculty of Health Science
    • Consumer Studies (8DS K01, 8DS K02, 8DT K01, 8DT K02)  
    • Occupational Hygiene (8EB K01)
  • Faculty of Engineering
    • All 7 Engineering Programs (7CG K01, 7CG K02, 7CH K01, 7CJ K01, 7CK K01, 7CL K01, 7CN K01)


Faculty selection:

Courses that require selection tests:

Selection is done on the basis of academic achievement based on Gr 11 or Gr 12 marks as well as a psychometric assessment. The psychometric evaluation includes personality, aptitude and other questionnaires, as required by the specific studying direction. Some courses also require subject specific tests such as Mathematics or Chemistry and Physics. When appointments are made for the tests, students will be notified if they also have to write subject-specific tests and what to study for these.

  • Law (LLB, BA Law and BCom Law)
  • B Consumer Studies
  • B Consumer Sciences:
    • Sciences in Food Product Management
    • Sciences in Fashion Retail Management
  • B Social Work
  • Theology
  • Urban and regional planning

In order to book a selection test, the appointment form can be completed electronically or appointments may be made telephonically using any of these numbers 018 299 2890/2896/2893. Be sure to contact us to obtain information about the venues.

Test centres (dates are available on the electronic appointment form):

  • Bloemfontein
  • Bredasdorp
  • Durban
  • Ellisras
  • Ermelo
  • George
  • Keetmanshoop (Namibia)
  • Kempton Park
  • Kimberley
  • Krugersdorp
  • Mahikeng
  • Middelburg (Mpumalanga)
  • Nelspruit
  • Polokwane
  • Port-Elizabeth
  • Potchefstroom
  • Pretoria
  • Stellenbosch
  • Upington
  • Vanderbijlpark
  • Vryburg
  • Walvisbaai (Namibia)
  • Windhoek (Namibia) 

Please do not make an appointment if you have not yet applied.



Once you have applied you will be invited by the Faculty of Engineering to make an appointment to write the selection test. Read more about the selection and application process for Engineering or find all the available dates for the Engineering test